Thy Will Be Done

We fast and pray asking for the Lord to bring healing in our times: for men to be bold and to walk in to relationships with women, for women to be soft and willing to be molded by God’s gracious plan in their lives, and for God to give the good gift of marriage to those who desire it.

Listening to Spotify the other week, a song caught my ear and I immediately identified with the words. Since that day, I’ve shared it, purchased it, and repeatedly played it. The lead female vocalist, Hillary Scott, from the popular country music band, Lady Antebellum, is set to release an album with her family in the coming months. In April, the first song from the album was released, entitled Thy Will. Read through the lyrics below…

Thy Will by Hillary Scott

I’m so confused
I know I heard you loud and clear
So, I followed through
Somehow I ended up here
I don’t wanna think
I may never understand
That my broken heart is a part of your plan
When I try to pray
All I’ve got is hurt and these four words

Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Thy will be done

I know you’re good
But this don’t feel good right now
And I know you think
Of things I could never think about
It’s hard to count it all joy
Distracted by the noise
Just trying to make sense
Of all your promises
Sometimes I gotta stop
Remember that you’re God
And I am not
So

Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Like a child on my knees all that comes to me is
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Thy will

I know you see me
I know you hear me, Lord
Your plans are for me
Goodness you have in store
I know you hear me
I know you see me, Lord
Your plans are for me
Good news you have in store

So, thy will be done
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Like a child on my knees all that comes to me is
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
I know you see me
I know you hear me, Lord

I don’t know where you find yourself today. Perhaps, like Hillary Scott, you find yourself in the middle of heartbreak and are struggling to understand why because you thought you were following God, so how did you end up here? The billboard for Christianity should read “Following God is never safe or without pain.” That’s often hard to reconcile with the loving God we know wants the best for us, can pain really be part of His plan? Does my heart have to break? I didn’t sign up for this, I thought this was going to work out for the good (Romans 8:28).

Perspective. I don’t often have the perspective I need to see how the broken heart and pain fit into the plan. I may never understand, time may never provide the distance to know why, so I have to trust God’s perspective.

Hillary Scott chose not to reveal why she wrote these words, because she wanted them to speak to each person without her story interfering. It doesn’t matter why these words spoke to me either. What matters is each person being able to say “though I don’t understand, though my heart breaks, though I’m sick, though… THY WILL BE DONE!”

Even though I walk
through the darkest valley,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

Psalm 23:4

Thy Will Be Done!

Michelle

 

 

This entry was posted in Author: Michelle. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thy Will Be Done

  1. lwinzarni says:

    Thank you. I’m encouraged to read it today.

  2. Maria says:

    Helpful and beautiful words – as always, Michelle!

  3. Deb B says:

    Thanks for sharing that, what a powerful message!

  4. rsblunt3 says:

    Beautiful and so wise.

    Ray Blunt 703-856-5698

    >

Leave a Reply

