Guest post: Why I Love Snow

We fast and pray asking for the Lord to bring healing in our times: for men to be bold and to walk in to relationships with women, for women to be soft and willing to be molded by God’s gracious plan in their lives, and for God to give the good gift of marriage to those who desire it.

I’m sitting here on my comfy chair as I watch my awesome neighbor, aka my dad, snow blowing my driveway open. Within the past 2 days we received about 28 inches of snow.   Social media is blowing up with photos of the snow and a lot of unhappy people who are expressing their intense hate of the snow and how they can’t wait for Spring and Summer.

I sit here still loving the snow. I will say – I’m not a plow truck driver who has to be out clearing the roads, or someone in the medical field having to find a way to work no matter the conditions, or a truck driver who is stuck on a highway somewhere for hours at a time – so I realize that if that was the case my perspective would be very different I’m sure.

As I’ve been stuck at home I’ve taken some time to think about what it is that I love about the snow.   Humor me in taking a few moments to recognize some things we should appreciate about snow, and especially about big snow storms like this one. Let me share with you why I love snow.

I love how even in the middle of the night when it’s usually dark out, it’s still bright because of the reflection of the moon and stars off of the snow. It reminds me of how we should be as believers and followers of Christ – that even when the world is so dark, our lives should reflect the light of Christ so that it lights up the dark world.

Snow is so white, so pure, so clean – we joked at work that it’s like little fluffy angels raining down from the sky. If you sit and watch it fall it’s so peaceful and calming – it creates stillness and quiet in a world that is so loud and active.   And it reminds me of the verse in Isaiah 1:18 ““Come now, let us settle the matter,” says the Lord. “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.” Snow provides a pure and clean covering over everything – just like Jesus’s shed blood does for us – it makes us whiter than snow. I heard a story once of a little girl who was adopted by a family in the US, in a state where they get snow. She had never seen snow before and so the first time she saw it she said “I get it, I get it now”.   She was referring to the verse, she never had a way to make sense of that verse as she had never seen snow – but now, after seeing how incredibly white and pure it was she could finally understand how pure and clean God makes us.

One of my favorite things about big snow storms like this is that it forces us to stop. Yes, I realize we have to go out and shovel. But we can’t go anywhere – literally this weekend here in PA we couldn’t get to our cars, some people couldn’t even open the doors to their homes because of the snow.   It forces us to stop, to slow down, to change the pace of our lives and to enjoy the moment (if we choose to enjoy it). Our lives and this world are so busy, we are always thinking of the next thing that needs to be done, we are so task oriented. Well, that pace doesn’t work in a storm like this as the two can’t go together.   Sadly, I sometimes need a major snow storm to change my pace and realize how often I let life just pass by without enjoying the moment and taking it in. I’ve loved being able to sit and watch a movie, talk to friends on the phone for hours at a time because no one had anything they had to do or anywhere they had to be.   A good friend of mine texted me yesterday and she said “I need to live life more often at this pace”. Amen sister, thanks Amy for helping me to see that as well. Why does it take a snow storm for me to slow down and live life at the pace that I think God really intends for us to live?   We miss so much because we are moving through life at a pace that we shouldn’t be living.

I love storms like this because of the way it brings the community together.   All the neighbors are out shoveling and snow blowing so it fosters opportunities to say hi and strike up conversation. It also provides opportunities to help each other out and work together as a team. I’m grateful that I live next door to my parents and so I benefit from my dad’s snow blower. Last evening as he was snow blowing, the rest of our family was out shoveling and helping the neighbors shovel – we’re all in this together.   This morning I woke up to the sound of a State plow truck stuck at the intersection outside of my house.   I quickly bundled up, grabbed my shovel, and headed outside to help.   Our two shovels didn’t even begin to fix the issue but it provided an opportunity for me to touch the life of someone who needed a little bit of encouragement after many long hours working on the roads.   We then called my cousin up the street who lives on a farm and within minutes he joined us with a tractor to help pull the plow out.   These are the things that I love about big storms – how everyone comes together, whether you know each other or not. What an awesome picture of how the body of Christ is meant to function all the time – not just in times of need and crisis.

I love how it brings families together.   Again, our pace of life is so fast and so full that we don’t spend a lot of time just hanging out with our families.   When we’re stuck inside we’ve got nothing else to do but hang out together – whether it’s eating a meal together, watching a movie together, or playing a game together – the important piece is that we’re doing it together….even shoveling together. In our culture many families don’t have much together time – so I love that snow storms force us to have family time spent together making memories.

For those of you reading this who hate snow, I hope that my thoughts were able to provide at least a small piece of perspective so that the next time we get snow you can at least smile once while you watch the fluffy white angels fall from the sky.

~Heidi

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

