Freedom

We fast and pray asking for the Lord to bring healing in our times: for men to be bold and to walk in to relationships with women, for women to be soft and willing to be molded by God’s gracious plan in their lives, and for God to give the good gift of marriage to those who desire it.

What a week it’s been! Took 4 nephews skiing while their parents attended a work event. Hosted a drop-in tea party for 20 ladies at my house, complete with homemade truffles and scones (like Downton Abbey high tea kind of stuff without the castle or butlers). Delivered a meal to my friend who gave birth to a healthy little girl 6 days earlier (marriage and baby happened while in the over 40 club, btw). Hung pictures with another friend getting her house ready for an exchange student. Also played goffer and general hospital patient helper for my mom, who had a surprise surgery on Tuesday and has remained in the hospital ever since. Plus, there was the normal week happenings like work, dishes, and sleeping.

While I could use a little less excitement packed into one week, I’m thankful my week could accommodate the activity. There is a certain level of freedom that comes with being single and childless. I don’t have to check with (or on) anyone before making last minute schedule changes, like sitting with my dad while waiting for my mom to come out of surgery. I can plan my week without regard for meals, laundry, and the schedule of another person dependent on me for these things.

I love the freedom that singleness provides in my life. I’ve talked with two women recently that find themselves single again because of very sad circumstances, and they have both remarked about the freedom they are experiencing in singleness. I don’t have pets or house plants because they could mess with my ability to be spontaneous and flexible. While I cherish my freedom, I believe it comes with responsibility.

Freedom is a gift.

Galatians 5:1 “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.”

True freedom is a gift from God, delivered by the death of Jesus on the cross. Accepting the gift of salvation through Jesus, we are no longer slaves to sin and our human desires. Christ has set us free!

Freedom is living.

1 Peter 2:16-17 “Live as people who are free, not using your freedom as a cover-up for evil, but living as servants of God. Honor everyone. Love the brotherhood. Fear God. Honor the emperor.”

Have you ever met someone that is living life to its fullest as a free child of God? It’s truly a beautiful thing. Freedom in Christ is not a license to do anything, but a call to live as servants of God. It’s one of those upside down kingdom principles, where a “free servant” is not an oxymoron.

Freedom is serving.

Galatians 5:13 “For you have been called to live in freedom, my brothers and sisters. But don’t use your freedom to satisfy your sinful nature. Instead, use your freedom to serve one another in love.”

The purpose of our freedom in Christ is to serve others. Freedom is not meant to be just for our own benefit, but is to be a blessing to others. No matter our status in life, our lives are to be characterized by service and love. Singleness, if not kept in check, can produce selfishness. However, Paul encouraged living single because he knew that there is great blessing and purpose in using singleness to fully devote oneself to serving God and others.

Freedom is devotion.

Psalm 119:45 “I will walk in freedom, for I have devoted myself to your commandments.”

Imagine if we drove vehicles without any traffic rules. I believe mass chaos would ensue. Freedom to travel in safety and covering great distances is done so because we have road rules. Navigating the Christian life in freedom is done by following God’s commandments. Devotion to the things of God equals freedom!

How are you using your freedom in Christ? Is your freedom producing service or selfishness? Buckle up, it’s the law!

Praying you have a wonderful week living in freedom!

Michelle

This entry was posted in Author: Michelle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

