Front of the Box, Please!

On Mondays, we fast and pray for men and women to be increasingly transformed and conformed into the image of Jesus Christ, and that marriages would be granted to those who desire them. 

Update on Poll Results: Many thanks to the more than 380 of you who filled out the poll! We are thankful that you took the time to figure out the survey and give so much helpful feedback. A few quick highlights:

Although there is wide variation in the community, it appears that the majority of fast.pray folks are 30-something women who have not been married before…don’t worry, we are grateful for all of you in that demographic or otherwise! The most helpful content is evenly split between “life stories from other singles” and “discussion on issues related to singleness/marriage.” The biggest factor that keeps us involved is “a weekly reminder to bring my relational status to the Lord.” And we’ve got a boatload of helpful info from your individual responses as well. If there is more you’d like to share, you can always shoot the team an email at fastprayblog@gmail.com.

Connally Update: In the survey results, the name of one of our favorite people was mentioned quite a few times: Connally Gilliam! She was one of the original founders of the blog and wrote a book on singleness (here) that has been a gift to many of us. In case you’re wondering what she’s up to now, she’s recently launched a new website and she’s blogging again – check it out here!

Front of the Box. Sometimes I feel like life is getting a few puzzle pieces at a time. I’m looking at them, examining the angles and trying to find the edge pieces. And I’m looking at the strange assortment of pieces on the table in front of me. It’s not that I don’t like the pieces I have…it just seems that like they don’t fit together. Also, I have absolutely NO IDEA what picture they’re supposed to be making. And so, in my problem-solving mindset, I want to see the front of the box. I ask for clarity and a life purpose statement and overarching vision for my life…especially as my puzzle pieces look more and more different from the puzzles other people are producing. And I want to scream…show me the (expletive) front of the puzzle box!!

God tells us that His word is our guide (Psalm 119:105). And it gives light to our feet. Not floodlights of clarity on the entire map. He says He’s holding our hand and guiding us with His counsel (Psalm 73:23-24) – this is a rich promise, but it is not a guarantee of seeing the big picture. It’s the better guarantee of walking together. And then we come to this poignant description in Ephesians 2:10 – For we are His workmanship (or masterpiece, handiwork), created in Christ Jesus to do good works which God prepared in advance for us to do. 

The front of the box? Perhaps it’s that the pieces of our life are somehow becoming a unique, glorious display of God’s artistry. He is weaving the seemingly disparate into a masterful, coherent, beautiful finished work…and we might not get to see the final product on this side of eternity. But if, this week, the pieces seem particularly jagged or nonsensical or difficult to decipher…be encouraged that He is walking with us, guiding us and somehow weaving beauty out of our mess.

In His Grace,

Amy

This entry was posted in Author: Amy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Front of the Box, Please!

  1. Daniela says:

    Thank you Amy for this illustration! This even apply to short term issues that we have in this life. And it affects me right now in particular, as I’m hoping to get married, and this goal seemed to be closely in reach earlier this year when I met a very nice young man. But again, it’s complicated, and because of the current circumstances (long story) I can’t and will not know for sure any time soon whether something serious is going to develop between us. How do I wish that I had the big picture right now – whether I should still invest (emotionally, time-wise) in this relationship, or whether I should rather give up any hopes. But I can only lean on the Lord, and trust that He has the best plan for my life. It’s been hard, but I know He doesn’t make a mistake. It’s really good to get this weekly reminder to fast and pray for my situation. Please keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

