He’s Got Your Back

On Mondays at lunch, we fast and pray that men would walk uprightly with God, that women’s hearts would be softened, and that God would grant marriages to those who long for them.

Driving home from the Father’s Day festivities the other week, I started thinking about my dad (I like to keep my thoughts in line with the day’s theme). I was reflecting on the stuff we do together (or I rope him into doing), and my mind wandered to my bathroom project I naively started and thought I could finish while my dad was on vacation. Eight months later, I had a functioning bathroom again, and my dad had been over several times to help me keep the project moving. My girl muscles just do not hold the power of a man arm that rivals the circumference of my thigh.

Someone once asked me how I got to be so adventurous with house projects. My response was something like, “I know my dad has my back!” I would never try half of the things I attempt, if I didn’t know I had a skilled father to call on for assistance.

While in the car on Father’s Day Sunday, it hit me, shouldn’t I have the same trust in God and believe He will have my back? I should be able to step out in faith knowing that God has my back. So why do I feel more reticent when it comes to exercising faith in God?

Trusting that my dad has my back when I attempt to repair my dryer or decide to make an off-street parking space behind my house seems to come naturally. So why is it any different with my Heavenly Father? Shouldn’t I know without any doubt that He has my back when I live by faith?

I was reading in 2 Timothy 4 this week and Paul practically says the same thing about trusting God, only he didn’t say “God’s got your back!” In the end of chapter 4, Paul mentions to Timothy that he feels alone and abandoned, as no one had come to his aid during his trial. He was sitting in prison without any visitors. In the midst of being alone and imprisoned, Paul keeps perspective and says in verse 17:

But the Lord stood at my side and gave me strength, so that through me the message might be fully proclaimed and all the Gentiles might hear it. And I was delivered from the lion’s mouth.

Paul trusted that God had his back through prison and abandonment, and continued to step out in faith. Do I really believe God has my back to that level of self denial for the cause of the Gospel? I want to live on the edge of faith and trust that God has my back.

I’ve heard faith is like a muscle and needs to be exercised, so I’m trusting and believing…

– as I commit to giving and recognizing my resources are God’s gift (dual income or not), He will have my back.

– as I serve others and put aside selfish ways, He will have my back.

– as I approach relationships with men differently than society (treating them as brothers until dating and keeping sex for marriage), He will have my back.

– as I meander through a semblance of a career that I thought I’d depart from for motherhood, He will have my back.

– as I seek Jesus, explore His plan for my life, and exercise my faith in Him, He will have my back!

Just as my bathroom remodel had its challenges, this journey of faith will too. Bumps, bruises, and scars will all be part of the ride, but they are all what build character and make for great stories of God’s faithfulness. In the end all that matters is, as Paul declared, “that through me the message might be fully proclaimed.”

He’s got your back!

Michelle

This entry was posted in Author: Michelle. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to He’s Got Your Back

  1. Karina says:

    Its easier to trust your earthly Dad because its not faith-based – when you ask for help he helps you and you see the result. Its not easy to have that same kind of trust in God because its so much more abstract and many times, when we ask for help, nothing happens.

    • Jessie says:

      “So why do I feel more reticent when it comes to exercising faith in God?”

      Isn’t that why we’re all here? Cos God hasn’t answered our prayers for a husband (yet). And we don’t know if he will. And I’ll be the first to admit that it will be really hard to believe that God is good if I’m gonna be alone for the rest of my life.

      But 9 times out of 10, earth Dad will help if we shout.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Thanks Michelle – This was just what I needed today.
    Today was my first day of a new job that is totally different from anything I’ve done yet, in a new city two hours from most of my friends and family. It is good to be reminded that as I step out in faith on this new adventure, God’s got my back! 🙂

  3. Neelam says:

    Great post. Thanks Michelle.

  4. austriagom says:

    Thanks! As always, a great post, Michelle, and good reminder for us all the time, whatever our life circumstances.

Leave a Reply

