A Testimony of Answered Prayer

We fast and pray for the Lord to bring men and women into relationship with Him, for men to lead in the church and in relationships, for our hearts to be soft to the Lord’s leading, and for God-honoring marriages for those who desire them.

On November 14, my boyfriend proposed, and I, of course, accepted.

It was a sweet, quiet moment between the two of us – perfect for our personalities and our relationship. As I’ve previously shared, we met online (May 2012), and ours has been a slow but steady progression from getting to know each other to “officially” dating to preparing for marriage.

As I reflect on how we got to this point, the theme that emerges is prayer. For years, my parents and grandparents have been praying for a godly husband for me. My fiancé and his parents have told me that I am the answer to the prayer they have been praying for him to find a wife. I don’t know exactly when I started praying for a husband, but these past few years that I have been a member of the fast.pray. community have been a time of focused, intentional petition for God to move in this area of my life. Friends – married and single – have prayed for marriage for me.

The fact that we got engaged on November 14 is also an answer to prayer. Long story short (and it is a long story), we had been talking about getting engaged and had a time frame in mind, but our engagement was delayed because the ring – his family ring – went missing in the mail, for nearly a month. The day my boyfriend told me about the missing ring, I sent an S.O.S. email to the other fast.pray. writers and some close friends with the request to pray that the ring would be found that week, before my boyfriend’s parents’ visit scheduled for that coming weekend. And it was.

But the praying hasn’t and won’t stop now that the ring is on my finger.  More than ever, I am convinced of the power and importance of persistent prayer and our Mondays of fasting and praying.

While my prayers for a husband will change to prayers for my husband, I know there is no shortage of areas for growth within my heart and in my relationship with the Lord. Please don’t think that I have it all together in praying for marriage; there have been many ups and downs as I have navigated this transition from single-with-no-prospects to dating to engaged. (I’ll be sharing some of this in subsequent posts.)

I realize from being there myself that reading this post of my good news isn’t easy for some of you. You’re wondering why God hasn’t answered your persistent prayers for a spouse, and I wish with all my heart that I had an answer for you.

What I can tell you is this: He loves you. He hears you. He has a plan for you, even if your timeline isn’t His timeline. Take hope from how He is at work!

With prayers of thanksgiving and for His continued work,

Emily

This entry was posted in Author: Emily. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to A Testimony of Answered Prayer

  1. Naomy says:

    praise and Glory be to God..For He says that in the fulness of time He makes all things b
    beutiful Aleluya!Congrats Emmly..I have been fasting and waiting years are passing
    so fast and am making 40 in the next 3 year oooh God answer my Prayers bring
    favour me like you favoured my friend Emily am so glad you are a True and Faithful
    God you Never lie. thanks so much Emily your testimony has given me new hope to go on waiting and fasting God bless you.

  2. Riss says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!! I’ve enjoyed reading your entries and I am rejoicing with you for your answered prayer.

  3. Virginia says:

    Emily, Congratulations! Your story has inspired many.

  4. Gina says:

    I’m so glad for you, Emily!

  5. Neelam says:

    Congratulations Emily. Very happy for you. Your posts have encouraged and inspired me over time. And though I’m 40+ and unsure of whether marriage/kids is God’s plan for me, I am truly blessed to hear that God has answered your prayer (and others’ for you). Gives me hope that God is good, faithful and at work.
    Congrats again!!

    • Emily says:

      Thank you, Neelam! Blessings to you as you seek to walk in obedience to Him.

    • Riss says:

      Neelam, I too am 40+. I have my days where I struggle with God’s plan for my life and my unanswered prayers for husband and children. Often, those days are filled with tears, feelings of uncertainty, and exhaustion- coupled with a faint glimmer of hope. I find hope in the fact that although I don’t have any prospects–God will continue to use me (as His personal vessel) to share with others, the gifts He has placed in me.

      I pray God will answer your prayers just as He has for Emily.

      Walking in your shoes,
      Riss

  6. T says:

    Awesome! Congratulations! As others have said, this is very encouraging news for some of us still waiting and hoping.

  7. Karis Pratt says:

    Daniela, My heart goes out to you. I know the feeling. I encourage you to continue these prayers sincerely, especially the ones about God transforming YOUR heart… He has been faithful to me, even with my small efforts to take my run-away thoughts captive and stay in the moment. Your areas of growth may be different from mine, but I testify with thanksgiving that as I grow myself, my opportunities have become more promising. Of course, none of us know what will ultimately happen, but there is HOPE in the LORD, for sure! Bless you.

  8. Karis Pratt says:

    Hooray! Congratulations, Emily!! Many blessings on this gift of answered prayer leading to many more new adventures, challenges, and joys!

  9. Ruth says:

    Congratulations Emily! Your post is an encouragement to me today. Blessings.

  10. Daniela says:

    I’m happy for you Emily. It’s a proof that God still hears and answers our prayers!

    I’ve been fasting and praying with you all for over two years now, and I wouldn’t have imagined that I would begin this year 2014 with yet another crushed hope. Everything seemed so promising with this young man, however I eventually had to come to the realization that he is not interested in pursuing a closer relationship with me. Indeed, it sucks; however if the Holy Spirit hasn’t prompted him to pursue me, he is probably not the one I can serve the Lord best with. I have also realized that I might have somehow idolized this friendship and have put him somehow above my relationship with Jesus. So I have recommitted my life to the only One who will never disappoint me and who certainly knows what’s best for me.

    I would appreciate your prayers that the Lord will take away these feelings of sadness from me; that I may be courageous to continue serving my Jesus and walk more closely with Him as my Heavenly husband – and that He may help me not to be deceived anymore and not to hope for a relationship unless it’s really clear that this is from God.

    • Emily says:

      Daniela, I am so sorry to hear that your relationship didn’t work out. I will be praying for you today as I fast for healing, for clarity, and for you to know/feel/see His love for you. Thank you for being open and for sharing this with us!

      • Daniela says:

        Thank you so much for your prayers Emily! In fact, I’m already feeling somewhat better, and as I’m processing everything through, I can only conclude that I wouldn’t have been happy with this man – otherwise the Lord would certainly lead him to pursue me. I’m only tired of this, as it has happened so many times that I misinterpreted a man’s behavior towards me. But the Lord is certainly in control!

        • Emily says:

          Happy to hear that the Lord has been at work in this situation, even though it’s difficult. I received an email from a friend just this morning who has been going through a situation similar to yours, and it’s certainly not enjoyable. I wish I had an explanation or a brilliant, make-everything-better solution, but as I shared with her, continue to be faithful and live every day in obedience to what He has called you to do. He has some crazy plan! 🙂 Blessings!

  11. Danielle says:

    Congratulations, Emily! I rejoice with you and answered prayer! Thank you for sharing your praise report and for the reminder that God is always at work, whether we see it or not 🙂

  12. Helen says:

    Blessings on you both…and for those who are still waiting, continued trust in Him who knows our hearts’ desires and will answer them…in His time.

  13. VEry happy for you! A great testimony, thank God. Congratulations!!

  14. Jacqueline says:

    I love this. I’ve been reading and fasting for about two years now. I often wonder how many of the folks reading and fasting have had an answer to their prayer for marriage. This is one I’ve read so far and it gives me hope and joy to do so.

    Recently I admitted to a friend that it is getting harder to believe with the passing of time. Yes a very human side of me is not as delighted when I hear someone share their joy of engagement or having a baby for that matter. Simply because I cannot share in their joy via first hand experience. So I very much appreciate the tenderness in which this post was written, taking into consideration the hearts of those of us who are still single.

    Blessings

    • Emily says:

      Jacqueline, so happy this was an encouragement to you! Also, it’s a good reminder for us to share some of the stories that readers have shared with us about relationships/engagements/marriages that have happened.

      Praying for you today that you will have renewed hope and joy. He is faithful!

  15. Heather says:

    Oh Emily. Rather than being “news that isn’t easy” this is possibly the best news I have heard recently! It has restored great hope for me! This last year has been very difficult for me regarding singleness. I have just turned “over 40” and thinking of the prospects of being able to have babies or being married have been more than discouraging to say the least.

    And then, your posting! I feel as if you are on the sidelines of the race – cheering on those of us who remain single… Encouraging us to hold fast, keep praying, keep persisting! Your joy in being engaged is hope for me that the Lord didn’t just answer prayer in Biblical times, but He is answering prayer right now… prayers that at times feel hollow and weak and, dare I say, even hopeless. You’ve been a blessing to the start of this new year! Congratulations to you… may we all have renewed fervour in praying, according to His will, for the longings of our hearts.

    • Jannette says:

      Heather, you took the words out of my mouth! In fact, I’ll take it one step further. Today in particular has been unusually anxious and sad for me. After two weeks of staycation hosting my mother in my home through the holidays, today she returned home and I spent the afternoon packing away the last few remnants of Christmas in an empty apartment feeling particularly blue. Emily’s news was a timely reminder, a lifeline of hope. Congratulations, Emily. May God bless you and your fiancee as you embark on this exciting new journey.

    • Emily says:

      Heather, you have no idea how happy your comment has made me! It was my exact prayer that the readers would take hope in my story and see me as the #1 cheerleader who gets the struggle because I’ve been there and know those struggles. 🙂

      Will be praying specifically for you and your heart today and that the Lord will clearly show you how He is at work in your life. Blessings!

  16. pastorchichi says:

    whaal Amazing God i am happy for you Amy God will surely continue to bless you

  17. Annie says:

    Thank you for this! Though it can be hard to hear of others’ engagements occasionally, your post was rather an encouragement. Someone in my position, who has been praying the way I’ve been praying, has seen her prayers answered. This is a wonderful thing! I’m very happy for you. Yes, truly! 🙂

  18. Kristi says:

    How wonderful! You have a great testimony to share and I look forward to hearing more about it. Glory goes to God! Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

