Ask me about Hope

Our shared vision and mission: fasting and praying for God to change us, strengthen men, and give the gift of marriage.

About six years ago, during a time where I was going through an especially intense struggle with singleness, I bought a simple silver ring engraved with the word “Hope.”

hopepic

The purpose of my hope ring was to remind me of the hope that I have in the Lord – His love, faithfulness, provision, and my salvation – to get me through the difficult times when something I was hoping for (aka marriage) wasn’t becoming a reality. For such a plain ring engraved with a very common word, it’s generated a lot of attention with people often asking me about it.

That’s what hope does – it draws people’s attention. It’s not flashy or in-your-face, but its very existence in a person’s life draws others in, makes them curious.

I Peter 3:15 challenges, “…in your hearts revere Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have” (NIV).

I quite literally have to be prepared to answer questions about my hope (ring). No, it’s not a political statement (circa Obama’s 2008 campaign). No, it’s not a fake wedding band to prevent unwanted male attention (this came from a guy who didn’t notice that I wear my ring on my right hand so it won’t be mistaken for that very thing). And, no, it’s not like a promise ring that I’ll stop wearing when I get married because then my hope will be fulfilled and I will be perfectly content with life (thanks to my human nature, I know I won’t be). As the first part of I Peter 3:15 says, hope is revering Jesus in my heart and the future I have in Him.

My prayer is that I will live every season of my life in such a way that people will ask me about the hope I have in my life and not just the hope on my ring. Like my ring, it’s something I have to choose (with the Lord’s help) to put on every day- it’s not naturally a part of me, especially when things aren’t going the way I want.

As we enter this new season of fasting and praying on Mondays, let’s focus on preparing our hearts for the journey. Are we revering Christ as Lord in order to have hope in our lives, regardless of circumstance? Is He the object of our hope or is a husband?

Hoping in Him and praying with you,

Emily

This entry was posted in Author: Emily. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ask me about Hope

  1. Emily says:

    Thanks, Deb! Blessings!

  2. Susan says:

    I am here Emily and thankfully reading your post with a more tender heart than before!!!

    Our Lord and his hope I so adore!!
    XO

  3. Alice says:

    Thank you Emily, My experience has taught me that hoping in a husband (who isn’t showing up) leads to misery while hoping in Jesus brings great joy. All of the Lord’s ways are good. The path he has me on is good, even though it isn’t the one I would choose. He never makes mistakes and if he had to do it all over again, he’d have me on the same path. As I’ve begun obeying him and thanking him for the path he has me on and trusting that what lies around the next bend is good, he has filled my heart with joy. And on the days I don’t feel like I can trust or my hope is wavering, I can look to Jesus who lives in me and whose trust never wavers to hope in God for me. It’s all by his power and grace.

  4. nelelam says:

    Yeah great post Emily. Just this past Friday, God was encouraging me to put my hope in Him (not a husband), so this is very timely.

    Neelam

    • Emily says:

      Thanks for sharing! It’s so great to me how God gave both of us this message. Shows how important having our hope in Him truly is!

  5. Deb says:

    Great post Emily, thanks for reminding us of where our hope should truly lie.

Leave a Reply

