A Fresh Start

Welcome to the fresh, Fall 2013, version of FastPray.

We will be officially back-back next week, but we wanted to post for the holiday weekend. Our hope for you is that the time away was refreshing–giving you a new perspective on your prayer life and our mission to pray and fast about the gift of marriage; bravery and boldness for men; and restful patience hearts for women.

None of us knows what this fall (or even tomorrow) will hold, but let’s keep these verses in mind as we start this new season.

12 Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. 13 Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. 15 Let those of us who are mature think this way, and if in anything you think otherwise, God will reveal that also to you. 16 Only let us hold true to what we have attained.

20 But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, 21 who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body, by the power that enables him even to subject all things to himself. Philippians 3

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Fresh Start

  1. Danielle says:

    “…forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead…” Amen and amen!! Just this past Sunday, my pastor preached on keeping a focused vision and how we should not allow ourselves to be distracted from our primary focus (Jesus, becoming like Him, serving like Him, etc.). I can easily worry about my future and what may or may not happen, but being distracted by worry, anxiety, bitterness, envy and that whole gamut of emotions makes me veer from the path God wants me on into a ditch of doubt and faithlessness. So, this fall, I choose to put those negative things behind me and I’ll continue running this race of faith with my eyes focused on Him (Proverbs 4:25-27). And if those past worries (or any future worries) enter my mind, I choose to cast them upon Him (1 Peter 5:7).

Leave a Reply

