My New Obsession

We fast and pray on Mondays for God to move: to move men toward leadership, to move women’s hearts toward softness and responsiveness, and to move both toward marriage where desired.

Have you ever decided to do something only to have the decision challenged a week later?

A few weeks ago, I listened to a sermon by James MacDonald on money, which led to conversations with family and friends about financial matters. Then, I became obsessed with listening to podcasts by Dave Ramsey and Howard Dayton dealing with a Christian perspective of finances. And by obsessed, I mean I’ve hit up the archives and haven’t missed a day’s post in two weeks.

There is a challenge and a blessing to being the sole provider and caretaker of one’s financial well-being, as I’m sure many have experienced. However, what I’m being reminded of through my podcast obsession is there are principles throughout scripture for handling money that supersede the challenges of a single income.

I figure that becoming more biblically aligned in financial matters will only translate into a healthier marriage in the future (at least for the part I bring to it). After all, one of the top areas of conflict in marriage is money and debt, so if I can do something now to avoid major conflict in the future, I’m on it.

I set a goal to knock out my remaining student loan debt by the end of the year. To hold myself accountable, I told a few people. After having my goal practically written in stone (like on here) my resolve was challenged. Monday, as I multitasked between the TV, internet, and phone I looked over and the TV was black with death. Granted it was a freebie from Grandma and had already logged 12 years, but it really had to die a week after I told people my financial goal (and TV buying wasn’t it).

My resolve was surely tested, but if goals were always easy we wouldn’t feel a sense of accomplishment when they are conquered. The knowledge gathered from the podcasts and scripture was compelling me to continue towards the goal.

Here are just a few of the scriptures:

Proverbs 22:1 “A good name is more desirable than great riches; to be esteemed is better than silver or gold.”

Proverbs 22:7 “The rich rule over the poor, and the borrower is slave to the lender.”

Philippians 4:19 “And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.”

Want to listen or read more about the topic of money in scripture:

Dave Ramsey

Howard Dayton

James MacDonald Weekend Features on money

I want to continue to grow in this area, not just for the benefit to a possible marriage, but because being debt-free, sets us free. The freedom allows us to join God in His work around the world; free to give to well projects in Africa, free to quit the second job and volunteer, free to leave a legacy of giving. And in case you were wondering, I’ve junked the TV and cut the cable, no need for TV with all of these podcasts.

Happy listening!
Michelle

This entry was posted in Author: Michelle. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My New Obsession

  1. Damai says:

    Hi, I saw your post and wanted to ask if you would fast and pray for my marriage. My husband is in the military and soon to return from a year-long deployment. He has been proceeding with ending our marriage. I am crying out to the Lord to save our marriage, to heal my husband, to send us a miracle. I am going to fast and pray for the next 24 hours. Please pray for us. Thank you.

  2. Natalie says:

    Hi Michelle. I haven’t watched TV regularly for most of my adult life and have been praying God would bring me a husband who does not watch TV. It is not that I view it as bad, just that there is so much else to do that is better. And if you want some entertainment once in a while many shows are available to watch online, and with fewer or no commercials 🙂

    • fast. pray. says:

      I only had the basic of the basic cable package so it was almost like I didn’t have TV before. I agree there is so much to do outside of the TV screen. But I’m sure I’ll find ways for the occasional escape into the movie world. I like your specific prayer request for a husband!

      Michelle

  3. Melody says:

    This was a great post. I run a small business so have had together a handle on my money situation by force. After starting to budget and see that all my financial needs were being met I was free to enjoy the life I had been blest with without worrying about having enough for certain things. (I should add that I’m living quite simply. I live in Canada below the poverty line here and so really have to watch spending in order to stay afloat). You stated that when we are debt free we can be free to join in the work of God’s kingdom. But we must also remember how much we can give to it financially NOW in this time of debt repayment. I love to be able to provide for friends or families in my community when I can and I can do that now, even with years of debt left. I am not a “rich” person by north amaerican standards by any means but have found joy grae and faith by giving what I have.

    • fast. pray. says:

      I agree giving should be a priority regardless of debt status. Malachi (last book of the OT) tells about giving out of the first of our income. Thanks for clarifying!

      Michelle

  4. Chipo Monica says:

    thank you Michelle for the post i have been worrying a lot about my debts and also eager to meet my partner but now i know i have to focus on clearing my debts

  5. Not that I think you really need a TV (I haven’t watched TV in about 10 years and my life is richer for it!), but if you do plan on getting another one, shop Craigslist and pawn shops to find a good deal. We paid $75 for a 24″ box TV and had it for a long, long time with no problem until we finally gave it away, fully working. So if you just care about watching your shows, and not screen flatness or size, you can surely find a good, used TV that won’t derail you from your goal to pay off those student loans.

Leave a Reply

