The Quiet Life

On Mondays, we pray for marriages for those that desire them. We pray for men– that they would be walking in the Spirit–into leadership roles in relationships and the church. We also pray for women–that we would be unafraid to change and grow in whatever ways the Lord has for us. 

A few weeks ago, I was sitting underneath lovely cherry blossoms having a picnic with a few of my friends, and the subject of the blog came up. One of them suggested that we might need to lighten up once in a while. Haha. I agreed. I definitely need to laugh–even in the serious corners of my life, and I don’t always reflect that in my writing here.

I was all prepared to do a top-ten single-life favorites or top-ten hilarious anecdotes of the past month (I locked my keys and my cellphone in my house on my way to work more than once in the last few weeks), but life happens sometimes.

My grandmother passed away on Saturday morning, and I think I’ll come back to my original idea later. I was reflecting on her life, her work, and her heart– and 1 Thessalonians 4 popped into my head:

11 Make it your goal to live a quiet life, minding your own business and working with your hands, just as we instructed you before. 12 Then people who are not Christians will respect the way you live, and you will not need to depend on others.

My sweet grandmother lived just such a quiet life–she was positive and upbeat. She enjoyed silly songs and brightening the lives of everyone who came in contact with her.

Was her life perfect? Far from it. She lived lean times with five children on a reporter’s salary, but whatever disappointments or hard times came, she lived 1 Thessalonians 4:11. And the result? She was deeply satisfied with her life.

I live anything but a quiet life. I’m afraid of quiet because I think I’ll be lonely, that I’ll be bored, and that it will dissolve into my becoming a crazy cat lady.

There are a few things that stand out to me from Paul’s advice in that verse.

  1. Goal: Stay quiet–not keep busy. Mary, not Martha. 
    I look at my schedule as a thing to fill–not a thing to keep free. Obviously, I’m not advocating doing nothing, but doing fewer things well–rather than many things poorly. Eat well, sleep well, love those around you well.
     
  2. Focus: You and Jesus–not you and every other person, task, and duty in the world.
    The goal is not getting married nor worrying about every iota of my life and my friends’ lives, but to just wake up every morning, focused on what Jesus has for me today. 
  3. Work: Do things in your reach–not everything everywhere. 
    If you’re like me, you overbook yourself constantly and feel drained because you can’t keep all the plates spinning. God hasn’t given us over to constant stress or a modern, Facebook Newsfeed life-style. He wants you to do what you can and leave Him the rest. Find a ministry you love and are gifted in, and do it. 

Live quietly this week, knowing that Jesus is taking care of you (and the rest of the world too.)

Love,
Anna
He existed before anything else, and he holds all creation together. Colossians 1:17

This entry was posted in Author: Anna. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Quiet Life

  1. Anne says:

    Anna, Great post, and I am so sorry about your grandmother! What a great loss. Anne

  2. Lauren says:

    I’m praying for you and your family as your grandmother goes on to glory but also praising God that you had such a wonderful Lois in your life! This was a fantastic post and it is so true that we need to focus on growing in our walk with the Lord and taking it one day at a time!
    Praying you have a blessed week,
    Lauren

  3. Marie says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your grandmother.

    Thank you for such a great post in the middle of your mourning.

    Sometimes, as a single, its hard to look at the calendar that day and see an entire evening with no plans! Thanks for the reminder that its ok… and good… and the perfect time to spend with the Lord.

  4. Neelam says:

    Thanks for the post, Anna.
    And my condolences for your loss.
    Thanks for writing in spite of what you’re going through.

  5. Deb says:

    Anna,
    May God comfort you at this time. Thanks so much for this thoughtful post! I can certainly relate, it’s a big temptation to keep busy to fill the hours when you might just be sitting at home feeling lonely. I’ve recently re-discovered the book “The Hour That Changes the World” by Dick Eastman and it has been helping me spend more time in prayer. At first I drug my feet thinking that it would be boring or keep me from doing things that are more entertaining but now I find myself looking forward to it and wanting to find more time for it. Quiet time alone with God is such a blessing, and one we shouldn’t take for granted at this time of our lives!

  6. Rhea says:

    Dear Anna,
    What a wonderful message to start this work week! I praise God for the life message that your grandmother left you. I needed this reminder. Thank you for sharing this. I will look forward to your light-hearted message in the future.
    May the Lord bless and comfort you in your loss,
    Rhea

Leave a Reply

