Clothed Like A Lily

A few months ago, we heard from Michelle as a guest writer. She’s now going to be blogging for us on a regular basis. Click here to read her bio. We’re so glad you’re here, Michelle.  — Anna 

On Mondays, we pray for marriages for those that desire them, for God to raise up men to be leaders, and for women to be unafraid of change. 

I have never mastered walking in a pair of heeled pointy-toe mules. Heels in general are a challenge at times. Several years ago I was wearing cuffed flared trousers with a pair of sling back heels. You can probably guess what transpired as I walked across the stone parking lot. The heel of the left shoe got caught in the cuff of the right leg sending my body propelling towards the ground. With my purse in one hand and car keys in the other my split second decision was to save the trousers from knee holes by throwing my purse and keys (at least 10 feet) to catch my fall. I managed to save the knees and trousers, but spent the next 15 minutes digging gravel out of my hands. Never again have I worn heels with cuffed pants.

The progression of fashion hazards continues to the most embarrassing. I’m standing in the lobby of church chatting with parents and volunteers of the youth ministry and notice a slimy substance in my finger nails. I clean my nails off and seconds later the substance is back. I investigate further and discover a large patch of “wetness” on the lower left side of my stomach causing the t-shirt to stick to my skin. Why no one noticed or bothered to tell me about this dark patch on my red t-shirt, I’ll never know. I believe I said something like, “What did I get on my shirt?” and excused myself into my office to investigate. I lifted my shirt only to notice the oily substance was trickling down my stomach and had reached my jeans. I had sprung a leak! I discovered that fateful day, water bras have a major flaw… they leak without warning. So much for a little padding, guess what else I have sworn off wearing?

There is a verse in Song of Solomon that always strikes me when I read through the book, and not the verse you would think. It’s tucked into chapter 1; the future queen is telling the king “Don’t stare at me because I am dark…” She’s tan and feeling insecure? This doesn’t compute in our “get me to the beach or I’ll fake bake” society. At that time, skin untouched by the sun was considered beautiful and an indication of wealth, meaning the woman didn’t have to work in the sun-scorching fields. A few verses before this, other young maidens are telling the king how hot he is and the future queen is suddenly not feeling very pretty. Her brothers made her work in the fields, darkening her skin, and we find her questioning her beauty.

Why is our search for the feeling of beauty so fleeting? Each month my Lucky magazine tells me how out of fashion I am. My wardrobe malfunctions remind me just how ridiculous the pursuit of beauty can be, yet the desire to be beautiful continues to compel me towards the next trend. However, the Bible has a completely different picture of beauty.

Proverbs 31:30 tells us that beauty does not last; fearing the Lord is to be praised.

1 Peter 3:3-5 “Don’t be concerned about the outward beauty of fancy hairstyles, expensive, jewelry, or beautiful clothes. You should clothe yourselves instead with the beauty that comes from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God. This is how the holy women of old made themselves beautiful.”

Matthew 6:28 “And why worry about your clothing? Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are.”

It can be easy to believe the reason we are single is because we somehow missed the beauty mark. But God wants to tell you… You are BEAUTIFUL and it has nothing to do with the attention of a man or the perfect outfit.

Happy to join the writing team!

Michelle

This entry was posted in Author: Michelle. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Clothed Like A Lily

  1. T says:

    This is a good post, but I think we should remember that even conventionally beautiful and stylish women sometimes experience unwanted singleness and there are plenty of married women who are not considered to be beautiful or stylish. Sometimes beautiful women are told that they are too intimidating to men, but I don’t think that’s the problem either. For every reason we think we are single, there is a married woman with the same traits we think are holding us back. I think it’s helpful to remember this because in fact, NO THING is holding us back. We may have to wait on God and make sure we are truly open to marriage (consciously and subconsciously), but it’s impossible to be too ugly for love.

  2. Danielle says:

    Thank you, Michelle, for sharing with such honesty a struggle that sooooo many women face. We’ve got to keep on using the truth of God’s word to cast down the negative voice of the enemy that tells us we are unwanted or missed out. We are beautiful! We are loved! 🙂

    • Michelle says:

      Thanks for commenting Danielle! I think you are right this is a universal struggle for women regardless of marital status. Knowing in our heart we are beautiful and that God is the source of that beauty can only make us better spouses in the future. 😊

  3. annaimagines says:

    Thank you Michelle! Such a great reminder that true beauty comes from within and shines out 🙂

  4. Helen says:

    Well said…now putting that truth( I am “beautiful and it has nothing to do with the attention of a man or the perfect outfit”) into practice is an on-going task. Thank you or the reminder!

    • Michelle says:

      Thanks Helen! Do you have any practical ways that you use to put this truth into practice?

      Michelle

      • Helen says:

        Yes, I like to remind myself of the Scripture that I says, “I will praise Thee, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.” I recall that my value to God is uniquely special apart from any other trait, feature or economic status I achieve.

Leave a Reply

