Guest Post: The Gift

I’ve been a part of the Fast.Pray family for a number of months now and always find the blogs to be refreshing and encouraging.  When I was asked to be a guest blogger I was honored and began praying about what God wanted me to share with the Fast.Prayers.  God continued to bring the same thing to my mind which is a direct result of Fast.Pray’s ministry.

When I first began to read Fast.Pray, I didn’t fast.  But after a great conversation over latte’s and biscotti with my dear friend Amy, who is a part of the Fast.Pray leadership team, I decided that I needed to begin fasting on Monday’s with the rest of the family.  God has done incredible things through that time of fasting and praying; however, the most amazing thing was what I like to call ‘the gift’.

For the past few months God has had me walking a very interesting, painful, difficult, incredible, and lonely journey.  He has given me strength when I’ve had none and has spoken to me in amazing ways through this journey – I have never been closer to Him than I am now, which I am so grateful for.  To my shame, I often lose hope and beg Him to renew my hope and remind me that His promises are true.  The Monday of the gift was one of those days.  I had been feeling hopeless for a few weeks and was wondering if this journey was really where God wanted me and if He was actually going to fulfill the crazy promises He had made to me.

During my lunch break on Monday’s I go to the Prayer Room that we have at my place of employment (I know – how cool to have a ‘Prayer Room’ at work).  That day I was praying and toward the end of my break I was venting to God about my feeling of hopelessness.  I asked Him for a gift – something to bring renewed hope.  I told Him that I’m not going to ask Him for something specific because He knows me and the situation better than I do and so He knows what would be best to give me hope.  I told Him that His Word tells me that He gives good gifts to His children (Matthew 7:11) and so I’m asking for one of those gifts – and I’d like it today please. I also told Him (which I think was really me reminding myself) that gifts are something good, so I knew it would be something good.

Within two hours of that prayer being prayed – God answered it! He provided me an amazing gift of renewed hope, reminding me that He is holding to His promises for this journey and for my life. I had to remind myself that my God does things extravagantly – bigger and better than what I could ever ask for or imagine (Ephesians 3:20).  He also likes when we ask Him for gifts.  He WANTS to lavish gifts on His children.  Don’t be afraid to ask and then trust that He’ll come through with something far beyond your expectation.

As we fast and pray together – ask God for what you need, maybe not what you want, but what you need. Whether it is hope, refreshment, restoration, grace, rest, renewed faith, or more of His love He wants to bless you with it.  And then sit back and watch Him hand deliver your gift – it will arrive, maybe even with a pretty bow on top.

He hears, He cares, He answers.
Heidi

Heidi blogs at https://princesswarriorjourney.wordpress.com/.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Guest Post: The Gift

  1. Ramona says:

    So what was the gift???? Can you be more specific? That would help me to recognize “gifts” from God if they are not obviously wrapped in pretty paper with a ribbon. Thank you!

    • I had to chuckle at your question as I did have the specific gift in my first draft and I decided to take it out as God provides each of us with different gifts depending on what our current situation is, what He knows we need, and what He knows is best for us at that moment. My gift was a phone call – a very unexpected phone call. For you though, it may not be a phone call. The more important thing is that I asked for a gift of renewed hope and God provided me with renewed hope through a simple phone call. For someone else renewed hope may come as a verse, song, or words shared by a dear friend. I’ve received many other gifts from God and they typically are never the same. Ask Him for what you need and then be ready to receive it – you’ll know when the gift arrives, it’s so beautiful and sparkly that it’s hard to miss.
      Please feel free to check out my blog as I recently posted a similar blog about gifts but it gives a bit more detail.
      Keep trusting Jesus – He is faithful!

  2. Kristi says:

    So cool. As I was reading your post, I kept thinking to myself that it reads an awful lot like my own journey. I’ve been asking God to give me just a glimmer of hope because discouragement comes knocking on my door often. He is always so very faithful to respond with scripture to encourage, a word from a friend, or something that will make me laugh out loud because it’s an inside joke between me and Him. Thanks for sharing.

    • Kristi – thanks for the comment, I’m glad my post could encourage you, that was my prayer. Check out my blog as it is a compilation of various lessons God is teaching me as He has me walking this crazy, painful, ridiculous, difficult journey. Blessings to you as you walk in obedience with Him!

Leave a Reply

