Different

We are fasting and praying during Monday’s lunch for the Lord to bring men and women into relationship with Him, for men to lead in the church and in relationships, for change in those areas of our hearts that aren’t obedient to Christ, and for God-honoring marriages for those who desire them. 

Ask my 88-year-old grandmother for her opinion on something, and if she hasn’t made up her mind on the matter, she’ll respond, “Well, that’s different.” Not good, not bad – different.

While I was home for Thanksgiving, I had the opportunity of being in the right place at the right time to hear my dad on the phone, giving my younger sister’s boyfriend permission to marry her. My mom and I were in the adjacent room when my dad announced the name on the caller ID, and my mom immediately started running around, shutting off household appliances that were running so she could better hear the conversation. Then, in true Mom fashion, she began to cry, which, of course, got me crying too because I have the involuntary reaction of crying whenever I see tears in my mom’s eyes.

These were happy tears of anticipated joy and answered prayer, but they were also sad tears about “losing” my sister. “Different” tears, signaling a change from the ordinary, “different” because our minds weren’t quite made up about how we felt about the change we now knew for sure was taking place. Yes, this is a good change –we love my sister’s fiancé– but change is hard.

I don’t do change well, especially when that change involves something beyond my control and leaves me feeling a bit left behind. And I recognize that my fear of change is a lack of trust in God’s goodness and plan.

However, this reluctance I have toward change, this shortcoming in me, makes me appreciate even more that God never changes (Malachi 3:6), even when He leads me through change. He is my Rock, my Anchor. Immutable. Faithful. Stable. His love for me is constant in every season and situation. My relationships with family and friends may change, but my relationship to Him as His child will never change. I am sealed and secure in Him. One less change to worry about!

So as I face – and by God’s grace welcome – this new, different era in my family, one where there is now a boy thrown into the mix of three girls, I am dwelling on God’s promise to remain loving, wise, all-powerful, in control. I know there will be tearful moments of nostalgia where I wish for the “good old days” and struggle over things being different, but I know He will remain my constant, understanding and comforting my heart, doing greater things than I can imagine. Different and good.

My heart echos David’s words: “Who is like you, Lord God Almighty? You, Lord, are mighty, and your faithfulness surrounds you” (Psalm 89:8).

Surrounded by His faithfulness,

Emily

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Different

  1. rega says:

    thank you for sharing. (and i hope your sis doesn’t read this blog to hear that news! 😉

  2. Susan says:

    Love it Emily!! Thanks for reminding me of His love for us!!

    so I don’t fuss fuss fuss

Leave a Reply

