Have Hope

We’ve been at this praying and fasting for five years now.  It’s been a great journey!  But after five years, Connally and I are stepping aside and handing over the reins to some other voices.  These are the voices of writers you’ve already been listening to, like Amy, Kirsten, Anna, and Emily. We’ll still be writing from time to time, but we will no longer be front and center.  Con will give more details next week, but I wanted to give a heads-up for what will happen when we start back in September.  (We’re taking our usual break in August.)

As I’ve thought about all that God has done in and through us over this journey, I wanted to give one big takeaway:  have hope!  God is good, he is working, and so there is much reason for hope and optimism and expectation.  You don’t know what might be right around the corner.  It’s so easy to get cynical and depressed when there is no one on the horizon or because you don’t have a relational track record with men that breeds hope.  It’s easy to assume, based on the past, that God will never give the gift of marriage.  But that’s not reality.  You just don’t know and can’t predict what God has in store.

If you’ve joined us in fasting and praying, it’s most likely because God is not operating on your marriage timetable.  But In the past few years I’ve seen so many friends get married for the first time — both those in their 20’s and those who left their 20’s behind long ago.  I even have a friend who married for the first time at age 69!  For some of you that might feel hopeful, and for others it might sound depressing, but what I want to emphasize is that no matter what your life stage or circumstance, God can surprise you.  Yes, we’ve talked a lot about disciplining our minds to not build castles in the sky or to live in fantasyland, but, on the other side of the coin, you just never know what God will do and its right to hope in him.  He is near. He is for us. He is good. Truly, as Connally and I have prayed together almost every Monday for the past five years, I’ve been amazed at how God has worked in my life, her life, and the lives of so many for whom we’ve prayed.   He’s worked in all three arenas we’ve prayed about—bringing change in our own hearts, the hearts of men we’ve prayed for, and giving the gift of marriage to many.

I love this quote from George MacDonald that I am sure I have shared before:  “We walk without fear, full of hope and courage and strength to do His will, waiting for the endless good which He is always giving as fast as He can get us able to take it in.”

So that’s my main closing thought, as we get begin to wind up this ‘season’ together, at least until we pick back up in the fall.

Have hope!  It is not in vain!

Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we can ask or imagine….

 Anne

This entry was posted in Author: Anne. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Have Hope

  1. Tracy Hopewell says:

    Thank you for that..that’s exactly what I needed. God is calling me higher and He knows the desire of my heart and one is to be married to a God sent man. Thank you again

  2. halennox says:

    Thank you, Anne…. For this posting and the wisdom you have provided in past ones. I appreciate your words of encouragement. I think “cynical and depressed” sum up my emotions at many times in the past regarding marriage. But, it’s good to have the reminder that we don’t know what the future holds! Only God knows what is just around the corner for us.

    This month I’m memorizing a verse from Romans 12 with some friends: “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” I love this verse and am striving to not only memorize it, but practice it!

    Thanks again!

    Heather

Leave a Reply

