Walking by Faith

Reminder: we are fasting and praying during lunch on Monday for men to have courage to walk upright and into relationship, for women to have courage to see where we need to change and to change, and marriages for those who desire it.

At church this morning, our pastor continued a sermon series on the folks mentioned in Hebrews 11.  This week we focused on Abel and verse 4; the one short verse says quite a lot about the role of Abel’s faith in life and death.  Our pastor reminded us that it is only by faith that we and Abel are first, made righteous before God, second, able to offer acceptable worship to God, and third, leave faithful legacies beyond our time on earth.

Thinking about faith in terms of my singleness made me ask myself if I’m really walking this singleness path by faith.  Am I believing in faith that God is able to provide for my needs (Phil. 4:19)?  Am I trusting that He withholds no good thing from those who fear Him (Psalm 84:11)?  Am I confident He knows the plans He has for me (Jer. 29:11)?  Am I resting in the reality that His love is unfailing and His timing is perfect (Psalm 32:10)?

I had to admit that so often the answer is no.  Instead of faith, my instant reaction is do something (anything!) to fix the “problem.”  So no one has asked me out in a while, or a good first date doesn’t turn into a second date?  Time for a closet overhaul!  Time to go speed dating with the girls!  Time to reactivate that match.com subscription!  Time to join that rec volleyball league!  Time to facebook friend that guy from that party!

This is not to say these actions would always be wrong, but when they flow from a place of, “Well, God…since you haven’t shown up here, guess I’m going to have to make this happen myself.” — well, I think it’s a sign of something deeper.  The ironic thing is that my singleness isn’t the problem to God; my lack of faith is.  While I’m actively trying to eradicate my singleness, He’s looking at my heart.

So as we fast and pray tomorrow, let’s remember that this journey is not one of “fix it now!” but about walking by faith in a God who, at great cost to Himself, loves sinners like us.  His goals for us are not our imagined ideal circumstances or moral self-improvement. Rather, He’s in the business of transforming broken, self-reliant, self-centered people into whole, live-by-faith, eyes-on-God people.  His unfailing love calls us to stop striving and rest in faith in Him, and that is a glorious place to spend our Monday lunch hour!

By His grace,

Amy

This entry was posted in Author: Amy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Walking by Faith

  1. Pingback: (Still) Walking by Faith | fast. pray.

  2. Christina says:

    Thank you, Amy! What a good word and so true. Resonates exactly with where I am and where I hope to remain.

  3. Thank you for that reminder. I have also been in that place where I have said to God, “Okay, I’ll fix this.” Every time I mess it up. I repent and say to God, “I don’t know how to fix this, please help me.”

  4. Neelam says:

    Thanks for speaking my thoughts out loud!

  5. Andee says:

    Amy, thank you for sharing your walk and your transparencies. There are many who can relate and are inspired by them. Keep trusting Him! It’s so worth it!

  6. Ladyelaine80 says:

    I think that the balance can be found in maintaining a prayerful, hopeful, confident trust in God. But that also requires being honest with God, yourself, and others. And in doing so, you come to understand that living a full life as a single desiring marriage means ignoring the chatter of those too afraid to take a risk and walking by faith. Doesn’t mean that all wisdom gets tossed by the wayside, but you figure out that your life story is neither formulaic,cookie cutter or ordinary.

  7. Katy says:

    How does this look practically? I have lived both extremes– fix it/ hope for change, or “have faith, trust God and be content” — meaning I did not ever put myself out there or hope for a relationship.

    I know it has to be somewhere in the middle– where faith meets hope. I feel they can’t exist without eachother but I find I either “trust God and have faith in my singleness” or “hope for the future” — I want to live with both

    • Amy says:

      Yeah, definitely hear you on that one! Living where faith meets hope is a place where nothing fits in my boxes 🙂

      Practically, I think it could mean looking at what you’re currently most afraid of and then praying about that. For me, when my big fear is “aah, being alone forever!” then I default to action. When my big fear is “aaah, relational vulnerability is scary!” then I default to withdrawing / passivity. So I think I have to take those basic fears back to God and have Him deal with them…otherwise I’ll drive myself crazy and/or end up at speed dating 🙂

      • Rebekah says:

        I would agree that it seems like somehow there should be a healthy balance of being willing to take action, but also living in surrender to God for the life we’ve been given for today. Since I’m much more of a fear of relational vulnerability kind of woman, at this point, I can’t tell if I’m losing interest in marriage or just so steeped in ‘nothing changes’ year-after-year that it doesn’t seem worth hoping. Whatever the root cause(s), I ‘feel’ like the result is confusion and ambiguity.

  8. Amy, that was an awesome post, it was if you knew me when you wrote this…

    thanks…

  9. Miss R. says:

    Thank you! I really needed that reminder.

Leave a Reply

