What A Heart Needs

We fast and pray on Mondays, during lunch or for the whole day, for three things: for God to work in our hearts and change us where necessary, for God to bring men to Him and prepare them to lead, and for the gift of marriage for men and women who desire it. 

True confession: I have occasionally gone to embarrassingly great lengths to put myself in the vicinity of some guy who I had decided was absolutely perfect.  I wish I could say such behavior ceased after middle school, but alas I found myself about a year ago sitting in a different church just because I happened to know that he went there.  And as I sat the in the pew, getting increasingly sheepish about my slightly-stalkerish behavior, I suddenly realized that I wasn’t really after that tall guy in the yellow polo halfway across the sanctuary anyway.

What my heart really wanted was far deeper than getting married.  I turned the bulletin over and wrote down the things I was really hungry for: spiritual leadership, finding home, being secure in my identity, having a future, being desired, being found worthy, being found beautiful.  And I was reminded again that those things are never going to be fully satisfied by a husband or by any human relationship. 

Those are things that only eternal true Love can give.  Christ came to lead us spiritually to the Father (John 14:6), to take us to our true home (John 14:3), to give us purpose now and a future hope (Jeremiah 29:11), to pursue lost sinners (Luke 5:32, Matthew 18:12-14), to demonstrate in His sacrificial life and death that we are already greatly loved (Romans 5:8).

This is not to say that the pain of unmet longings should be taken lightly.  To the contrary, we need to have the courage to let them do their work:  they are pointing us to our most real needs and directing us to the truest deepest surest solution: Jesus Christ.  I still have that silly bulletin because it is a concrete reminder of a) how crazy I can be, and b) how quickly I search for substitutes to my heart’s real needs, even though Christ’s sufficiency hasn’t changed.

As we fast and pray on Monday, let’s take all of our mixed up pains and hopes and unmet desires first and foremost to Jesus.  Let’s pour out that reality at the foot of the cross, and ask Him to come to us.  He is faithful: He can and will work on our hearts!

In His Grace,

Amy

This entry was posted in Author: Amy. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to What A Heart Needs

  1. Ruth says:

    Thanks for this.. really needed to hear this today!

  2. Thanks for sending me this post. Good stuff! What was the catalyst to start fasting on Mondays?

  3. Amy says:

    @singlesouthernlady: I know…as soon He points out one idol, I’ve masterfully transferred my worship to another one!

  4. Susan says:

    As usual, you hit the nail on the head!!

    My Pastor, James McDonald, has been preaching DIRECTLY TO ME these last several weeks…talking about idolizing “things” other than God. One of which was, “If you are single do not make your IDOL finding a mate!”

    God is great!!

    ps – my focus has been reset on Him!!

  5. What an encouraging post yet again. And while I do not like having this unmet longing, having it does point me to my Savior. I should possibly be grateful that it does because I have to first go to him, not a husband. When married, I am sure it will be a lot easier to try to just rely on a spouse to meet my needs, atleast at the moment, painful though it may be, I have no human relationship interfering with me seeking my identity, comfort and worth in Christ. (Ha, now if I could also overcome the urge to put my professional self worth in my career not Christ….)

  6. suzanne loucky says:

    thanks for the good reminder!

  7. tisagifttoreceive says:

    This is so, so true. While a man is good, and right in his time, what I’m really hungry for is more than he can ever give. What my heart is actually hearing is the Almighty’s invitation to be at home with Him, to rest in Him, to let myself be carried by His grace. We want someone with skin, yes, and that’s ok. But a lot of peace comes flooding in when we can detect the real wants from the apparent wants. ~Anita

  8. Stacey says:

    This is totally what I needed to be reminded of today!! As you listed the things you were hungry for they all hit home, but right now especially the one on identity. Right now I am going through some challenges with that. I have been teaching for 15 years and LOVE it so much! That’s a huge part of my identity. But this year our enrollment is very low and the school is combining 3rd and 4th grades. Since they will be teaching from the 4th grade curriculum they are going to have the 4th grade teacher teach. I will teach 3 classes, but will be the school secretary. I have had a hard time with that. I have told several people I feel like I’m losing my identity. I’m not really a teacher now, I’m not a wife, not a mother…and my mom has alzheimers and I’m trying to take care of her, so I don’t even feel like a daughter anymore. But you helped me remember I’m a child of the King so that does make me somebody…I’m a princess…i am His delight and only He can make me feel that way. No matter how much I feel I need more. Thank you, I was just praying that I would feel God and His care for me. Then I read this and He answered through it, so Thank You!!

    • Amy says:

      Stacey…my heart goes out to you as you balance the new roles at school and with family you ARE His beloved daughter!

  9. setapartgirl says:

    Love this, Amy! Thank you so much for this reminder that hits so close to my heart.

  10. Tru says:

    Beautifully said.

Leave a Reply

