Mother’s Day

This is your reminder that we are fasting and praying during what would be Monday lunch for 1) marriages for those who long to be married and 2) courage, for men and for women, to change in whatever ways marriage would demand.  And as we fast and pray, you might consider….

Today is Mother’s Day (in the US….I know not everyone who subscribes is in the US).  It’s a day where, especially at many churches, the lives of our moms and/or those who have mothered us is celebrated.  For me, growing up, we always celebrated our mother by making her a somewhat questionable breakfast of egg with shell and blackened toast.  Honestly, as sketchy as it was, I think she loved it!

For many women who long to be married or married women without children, however, Mother’s Day can’t help but carry with it a longing, a questioning–Where is my husband?  Where are my children?  And then inevitably, at least inside my own soul, that can give way to the age old questions:  Has God forgotten me?  Am I bearing any fruit that matters?

Today in an e-mail exchange, a wise guy friend who amazingly gets this dynamic and who has been aware of this prayer and fasting movement for a while wrote:

“As I was sitting in [my church] service this morning, which rightly offered thanks, encouragement and practical help to Moms, Grandmothers and Great Grandmothers … I couldn’t help but consider the wonderful single women present, and wonder where their hearts might be in such celebrations.  …  it really hurts me too, to know such bright, lovely, vibrant, loving young women, longing like Hannah for something thus far, un-granted.

I’ll be praying today for you … knowing for sure, that you are no less deeply loved and cherished by Him.  This is a deep, hard mystery….

Moreover, could God be at work … in response to passionate prayer and fasting?  

It may not be massive in scale, yet(?), but Christian men have begun grappling in fresh, new ways with a proposition [i.e. marriage] which had, for 1,000s of reasons, fallen on hard times among them.”

He then went on to tell stories of men taking relational initiative, guys he knows getting married, etc.  He even credits the prayer/fasting group for drawing his and some other guys’ attention to the whole topic!

So be encouraged–Hannah did cry out, and God heard her (check out 1 Sam. 1).  We, too, can and should keep crying out for the longings of our hearts.  Know, God does hear us.  And he responds (honestly, I think the empathetic and encouraging response of this above mentioned guy was one of God’s gifts to me, today).  Our heavenly Father sees, cares, and actively loves–all of his daughters (and sons, for that matter).  This Mother’s Day, we can give thanks for our mothers and any women who have mothered us.  We can rejoice for the chances we’ve had to be aunts, God-mothers, babysitters, big sisters, mentors, biological mothers, and a whole host of other “mothering” roles (for me, being an aunt and a God-mother and a spiritual big sister have been some of my favorite mothering roles thus far).  And while we do this, we can trust that our heavenly Father is decidedly paying loving attention, he is at work in and through his beloved daughters’ lives and prayers, and we can be bearing fruit, now.  This is true.

Great Blessings on your Week,

Connally

P.S.  If you like this, please pass the link on to your friends…..

This entry was posted in Author: Connally and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mother’s Day

  1. Sandra says:

    This post really blessed me. Thank you.

    Singlesouthernlady, I can really relate to what you’ve written. I have often thought the same thing, but you’ve expressed it so much more eloquently than I ever could. You are so right though, life CAN change so quickly. God is indeed faithful and this season of waiting is where our faith is tested. Do we really believe in His faithfulness? I’m praying for you all. 🙂

    • fast. pray. says:

      I am glad that different people are getting to “talk” to one another through this blog. Our hope really is that praying and “talking” together would both change the relational lives of men and women and give women the courage to live, fully engaged with God and others, neither demanding nor dismissing the desires of our hearts.

  2. This was so encouraging. I feel that women who are waiting for children due to infertility get a lot more understanding….their longing is seen as noble, single women’s longing for a husband is often seen as impatient and their longing for children is never even acknowledged.

    Mothers day is hard because I long to be a mother so badly, and although I enjoy celebrating the mothers I know, my hurt remains silent because a single (not sexually active) woman saying “I am hurting because I am waiting for a child” makes no sense to many people — what do you mean you are waiting for a child? you aren’t even married? I am waiting for all of it.

    But, I smile because after years of waiting when the Lord blesses single women (including myself I hope) , I think all celebrations, including mothers day, will seem a little more special…after all that waiting 🙂

    praying for you ladies… maybe next year we will be reading a blog post about one of this blogs readers being married and pregnant, life can change so quickly!

  3. Yes, this is true. Thanks Con.

  4. Gina says:

    You really know how to speak to my heart. Thank you and God bless you.

  5. Stacey says:

    I really needed this post today!! I have been struggling a little bit this week loneliness, singleness, and not being a mother, and then feeling like no one really understands. There aren’t many single people around me, and those that are have been married or have kids. My pastors message was so good this morning, and the music was so good,i felt better. Then at the end of the service he had all the moms stand, and I was back to struggling again. This post really encouraged me to know that people can really understand and care, especially a guy. That really blessed me! Thank you each week for encouraging my heart! Fasting and praying with you!

    • fast. pray. says:

      yes–knowing that a guy understands and cares goes some kind of particularly long way. i agree! i’m so glad this encouraged you….. warmly, connally

  6. Susan says:

    We studied 1 Samuel this morning in church, I loved it, Hannah poured her heart out to the Lord and he was faithful! I will continue praying that He sends me the Right man!!

    because of our Lord i am a big big fan
    :^)

Leave a Reply

